top of page

The one with the Nikonos: Pt.1

For years the Nikonos was the go-to camera of choice for National Geographic water photographers. Its 'can do' attitude with the amphibious lens meant that this camera was rough and ready to go in all terrain. That said, times change, technology advances and film cameras are loosing out to megapixels and bigger lenses. But please, Ladies and Gentlemen, do not get restless because the Nikonos is one of the most interesting cameras I've had the chance to work with; let me tell you why.

The Nikonos Project was created by a man with a dream to share his love of film photography and the sea. The Nikonos camera provided him with these tools and so he wanted to help provide others with that very same gift. The Nikonos Project lets you borrow a camera for free, so long as you let him share your photos on the site. Pretty cool, huh?! The photos are incredibly stunning and are what led me to find out more about this rugged camera. I put my name down on the list and waited patiently for 3 weeks until I broke and just bought one off of ebay.

Perhaps some more research should have taken place before I entered my winning bid, but who cares right? Shooting film is all about passion and impulse and what feels right. Sat waiting on the door matt, the (rather large) box containing the Nikonos arrived within the week. Upon first sight the camera looked ... used. The metal was cold and hard, the camera heavy and that little orange button glowing, ready to shoot. The insides were okay, there was a little sand residue which worried me as warnings all over the web suggest this is the death of the water world camera, but putting this worries to the side I slotted a roll in and decided to give her a chance.

The Nikonos I was shooting on was an IV, slightly cheaper and older than the most popular V. One thing that you should know about these cameras is that you have to manually focus. Yes. Manually guess the distance between you and the subject. This was terrifying and I cant say that I'm the best judge of distance so when I realised this panic set in. The view finder also doesn't see through the lens, it's much like the Lomo cameras out there, shoot from the hip style. You can guide what is going to be in the picture but framing to perfection is really out of the question.

The beautiful thing about the Nikonos is that while you are having to think more about the control of the camera, it feels like you are thinking less. It has a simple beauty about it. The shutter is quick, and sounds like a Minolta or a Leica but the winder feels a little like a kids camera, almost too easy. I much prefer the way the Olympus OM1 feels when you wind her on, metallic. The lock button is a real nice touch, located just by the shutter you can hover your finger on it so when you are ready to take a photo, you don't waste any time and can just slide it across. Quick, easy.

Overall; I am really impressed with how the Nikonos plays. It really feels like you are back to basics with film photography and puts the fun into it. So far, I give the Nikonos the following rating;

Feels: Great

Looks: Great

Shoots: Ok

The next test is to see what this baby can do underwater. I'm heading to Thailand for some diving and you guessed it, the Nikonos is going to be right by my side. Stay tuned for part 2, where I give you a break down on shooting underwater with it. But for now, here are some of the photos I took on the Nikonos above sea level.

bottom of page