top of page

Richie Keegan - An Interview

I've been so excited to showcase this Photographer. The moment his photos landed in my inbox I felt this pit in my stomach. The ache of jealousy. These photos are so rich in colour they feel like they've been plucked from someones dream. Today, I bring to you: RICHIE KEEGAN.

Richie, originally from Wolverhampton, spent 5 years in London then moved to Stockholm where he has been living for the past two years. You can really see the city life influences in his photography.

"I work in fashion but love taking a few snaps when I get chance."

When did you discover film photography?

"I knew a bit about analog photography as my Grand-dad had a few 35mm cameras knocking around when I was kid but really got into quite recently when I moved to Sweden. I bought a Nikon FG20 off eBay for £40 & just started playing around with that."

Why do you shoot on film?

"I love film, I love the impurities shooting films gives you once developed & it just creates a whole different dimension/feeling to your pictures."

So tell us, what do you shoot on?

"Still my all time favourite is my Nikon FG20. So simple to use. Favourite film is Kodak Ektar 100."

What makes you take a photograph?

"Stockholm is such a beautiful city & has some amazing architecture. I Love getting lost in the streets & just snap away. Also love shooting vintage cars as they are at abundance in Stockholm.

Working in fashion I also like to capture some cool street styles, along with just being around my friends & snapping them."

What is your best experience shooting on film?

"One of my favourite shots is when I was on vacation in Australia, I was waiting outside a Chinese restaurant & I snapped a picture of my friends Dad. I thought at the time "ooh this could be a cool pic" not thinking it would be one of my all time favourite shots.

The way the shadows, sun light, focus, pretty much the whole composition turned out was pretty rad."

Your Ig feed is really beautiful, full of bright, clean and crisp photos. How do you go about planning a shoot? What do you grab first when heading out to take photos?

"The beauty of having a reasonably compact analog camera is that I don't need a massive camera bag with loads of different lenses or accessories, I literally fill my pockets with a few rolls of Ektar or Agfa Vista film & that's it. Instagram is a great way to showcase & discover new/ inspiring photos for free. So many amazing photographers/artists on there."

What is your photography background? I see you shoot on digital too, what situations do you choose digital and when do you grab a roll of film?

"I'm self taught, my Dads always been quite a creative/artistic person so maybe I get my artistic flare from him.

"I do have a Nikon D5300 which is great as I can instantly wirelessly transfer the pics to my phone or Laptop.I run a little blog on the side as a hobby... Name dropping now, it's called Manners Maketh Man. ( www.mannersmakethman.com )

"But if I'm on the move & need to instantly update the blog I'll use my D5300."

What is the best thing that you have learnt whilst shooting?

"The best thing I've learnt is that photography is limitless, no restrictions to what you can shoot. I always try to have my camera with me as you never know when the perfect photo opportunity could be."

 

Hey! Yeah, you. Do you like reading these interviews? Know someone that's awesome that you think I should showcase? Then you should click on the EMAIL ME button at the top of this page and let me know.

Tweet me: @carolannerose

Find me on Instagram: @carolannerose

Pinterest: @carolanne35mm

 

bottom of page