top of page

Shiori Akiba - An Interview

Today in London the sun was shinning. When this happens the whole world seems to be in it's best mood. This also means that I get to showcase another great artist, and today I want to show you Shiori Akiba from Japan.

SHIORI STORY:

"When I was in high school, my older sister was learning at photography school and she was using a film camera, so I was influenced a lot by her. After graduating university, I was dating a guy who is a photographer and he gave me a old 35mm film camera. This is a first time I got my own film camera."

"I really like the taste of film. I don’t know how to say, but I feel like digital is too much for me. It’s too clear, too real, too beautiful. And when I’m using film, I can become tense. because there are limit to the number of film and I can not check immediately after I took a picture therefore I can value each of moment."

THE TOOLS?

"I’m always with olympus mju2. It is my favorite camera. And also I like ContaxT2."

MUSE?

"My work always involves sexual subjects. I view these subjects as being natural and not unusual. They are imperative in how I express myself. When I am shooting nude, I’m very excited."

With the way that technology is moving, displaying your photos seems to be a thing of the past. We upload photos to social media etc, what is your favourite way to show your photos?

"I like to display photo on the wall. And I like to give printed photos to friends."

INSPIRE:

"My favourite photographer are Yoshinobu Araki and Sandy Kim. They led me to the world of photography and always instigate my heart."

Aren't these photos amazing? What do you think? I love the way in which she completely embraces sexuality and it oozes in her photography. This is a tentative subject but she jumps straight in. If you want to see more of her photography please see her instagram page here: @SHIORI_AKIBA.

bottom of page