top of page

Kwokyong Ng - An interview

WHO?

Kwokyong Ng a 26 years old video editor from Malaysia.

I picked out @ain_sicnh from instagram to showcase becauuse this work is too beautiful to not be seen by more people! I love the darkness, the movie quality to these photos. They're so instant and full of spontaneous colours. See below a short interview with Kwokyong Ng, the 26 year old behind these incredible photos! If you want to leave love, please comment / share / follow! @ain_sicnh is his instagram name and at the bottom of this article are a few more links to other pages displaying his work.

FILM? DIGITAL?

"I have Olympus OM-1n and Diana F+. I use digital camera too, mainly for my personal videography projects. But I always bring both film and digital camera when I go travel around."

FAVOURITE?

"For now, my favourite film camera is Olympus OM-1n. I fell in love with it after switching from the plastic toy camera Diana F+. The OM-1n is a little bit heavy, but it feels really sturdy and nice in your hands. I really enjoy the process of manual focusing through the viewfinder of it, where I can’t really do it in Diana F+. Looking through the viewfinder, adjusting the ring to find the right focus distance, it feels like some kinda Zen meditation, with patience and concentration. And yet, it’s a rush of adrenaline when you are trying to catch the focus of the fast moving subjects.

"I don’t have a favourite film, yet. Still on the way of trying all out. But I prefer those grainy films, some kinda gritty, coarse texture on it."

THE DISCOVERY:

"When I was a kid, I saw a Pentax SLR in my dad’s drawer, but never really payed attention to such things. But when I was in college, there was a Photography course, that was when I started to do some online research about cameras and films. Then I bought my first camera in my life, Diana F+ for the class, but it ended up useless because the lecturer wanted us to use and learn with digital camera. So that was the stupid and naive mistake that I made, I thought I can be a little bit experimental.

"But it is a “Happy Accident”, I didn’t give up on the mistakenly bought camera and I used it on my own free time. After I got the developed negatives from the photo lab, I scanned the negatives at home with the normal scanner, and colour-graded them in Photoshop. It turned out to be just the way I like it, lo-fi, grungy and colourful. (photo below with sprocket holes and in the long strip are those that I scanned and colour graded myself... )

"This whole amazing experience actually affected me quite a bit, and helped me grow as a photographer, a video editor. The film looks, grains, colours, moods, they somehow became my design philosophy, where I apply onto my works, digital photo editing, graphic design and also colour grading for video."

LOMOGRAPHY THOUGHTS:

"I think it plays an interesting role, many of the photo editing apps are providing the filters to simulate the Lomo or the film looks, I guess they know people always like the style.

The Lomography’s motto is “Dont Think, Just Shoot”, and the last rule of the 10 Golden Rules of Lomography is “Don’t Worry About Any Rules”. It’s an interesting rule to tell people don’t be bound by the rules. Somehow, it’s great to give up the technicalities once in a while, let loose and just fool around. So, whatever... Just shoot, have fun."

INSPIRATION:

"To be honest, sometimes I don’t even know what to shoot.

Sometimes I like the silence, the calmness of a scenery.

Sometimes I like the chaotic night street and the colourful punch of the neon lights.

Or those trendy minimalism shots of architectures’ geometry that’s all over the Instagram."

"Your instagram feed is really dark and has a feel of art to it rather than just photos."

MORE THAN JUST PHOTOGRAPHY:

"I guess I’m a gloomy person. And it just shows on my works? I like to write too. Sometimes I will write some random stuff like a short poem, then post it along with the pictures. Or maybe it’s just pretentious, trying to be artsy-fartsy ? I don’t know...

Yea, I’m into videography. As well as motion graphic and graphic design. Here’s a link to my Videography/Motion Graphics PortfoReel : HERE. "

A PICTURE SAYS A THOUSAND WORDS:

"Sometimes what i’m trying to show doesn’t really matter? Because in the end, different audiences they will have different interpretations and perceptions. But still, each picture is like a personal expression of my feeling. Probably just a sudden thought or a story imagined from the picture itself. Usually they are all just random I guess."

Check out more of @ain_sicnh's work below!!

(Holy cow this is AMAZING! Please click on this link and watch, Kwokyong really puts film photography into the video with stunning results.)

3. Behance (Film and Digital Photography)

Once again - if you like these interviews please like and comment and follow and share!!

If you want to be features please leave a message in the comment box in the about me section!

bottom of page