top of page

Aaron Dancho - An Interview

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Ultrafine 400 Pushed to 800/ Montreal, Quebec.)

There are millions of accounts on Instagram, millions of people showcasing their artistic flair through filters and jazzy angles however there are a fair few that just stand out from the rest. I like to showcase every Sunday an analogue photographer that i'm digging and today I want to show you the work of Aaron Dancho. (Yes Yes I know it isn't Sunday! Too long to explain but here is my sincerest apologies.)

His work is never the same, it's not heavily edited, its raw and I love that. Aaron Dancho everybody:

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Kodak Ultramax 400/ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.)

Hey Aaron, thanks for agreeing to answer some questions! So, tell me a little bit about yourself, where are you from, where are you heading, etc?

"I’m 30 years old. I live in Philadelphia but am originally from the Pittsburgh area, I'm pretty sure you don't mean an actual physical destination but I would like to be moving on from Philadelphia. Not sure where I might be going but I think that I have stayed in Philadelphia long enough. As far as photography I have dreams to travel more and see more of this world and to document it through my photos. I’d also like to have my work seen more. I enjoy looking at and find it so interesting to see other peoples perspective of how they live their lives and see their surroundings as I try to show in my work."

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Kodak Ultramax 400/ New Stanton, Pennsylvania.)

A Physical destination is as good as a theoretical destination my friend! You shoot on 35mm right? When did you first discover film photography?

"Well I had been taking photos with my phone for a while and a couple years ago my father had given me his Canon AE-1 Program. Which seemed like a really big deal to me for the fact when we were growing up it was a prized possession to my brother and I (or well that’s how I saw it.) I had ambitions of using it but it sat under my bed for about a year. My new friend Kara Perry (@savewhatisleft) had seen my phone photos via another instagram account and had strongly urged me to get into film because of how rewarding it is. She wasn’t lying. Its one of the greatest simple joys in my life. I have only been shooting film for a less then a year. It’s been a complete learning process from the start. A lot of my friends have helped me along the way. Michael Battaglia, Carrie Lorraine, Dillon Moore and Matt Cohen have been some of the biggest help to me. All of these people I admire for their work and just as being genuinely great people."

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Kodak Ultramax 400/ 50 second Long exposure/ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.)

A Canon AE-1 Program? That's a real popular choice among film fanatics. What do you shoot on now? What's your go to film?

"My only camera right now is the Canon AE-1. Key words being “right now”. I have thought about delving into the world of 120mm. So, I have been perusing the options that I have for that. I don’t really have a go-to film right now. I go through phases where I bounce back and forth from shooting B&W to Color. I have a handful of Kodak TMax and TriX that is just sitting, waiting to be developed. I’m very eager to see what I have from those."

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Expired Life Color 200/ Ocean City, New Jersey.)

Your instagram account has photos of everything, its a real mixture and one of the reasons I picked the account to showcase, but what is your favourite thing to take photos of?

"I live in a bigger/older city. Philadelphia is such an architecturally beautiful city. So architecture and city living has been my favourite by far. But when I do get the chance to get out of the city I have enjoyed the country living as well. Just the simplicity of it. My inspiration comes from the joy that it brings me, the people that surround me, and seeing photos that make me just want to strive to be half the photographer that these amazing artists are."

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Ultrafine 400 pushed to 800/ 60 sec. Long exposure/ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.)

We all understand the preciousness of taking a photo on film, digital photographers will take a hundred photos where as Film photographers are calm and thoughtful about each shot. What makes you take a shot?

"I have to be in the right mood. I may see something that could be a great photo but if I’m not feeling it. I won’t. It’s just feelings that make me push that button. It may not even turn out like I had planned. Sometimes it’s just the being in the moment and the feeling that it gives me. I have said it before its “the calm to my storm.”

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Ultrafine 400 pushed to 800/ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.)

You mentioned before that you dabble between colour and black and white film and your instagram account really showcases some great examples, do you have a process for choosing film for a day of shooting?

"Well first I want to thank you for compliment. I do appreciate it very much. But even though I have a lot of mixed photos from day to night shots. I really enjoy shooting at night. I just find it calming to be in the city as it draws to a standstill. So I have been pushing my film to 800-1600 as of lately."

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Kodak Ultramax 400/Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.)

...and lastly, what's the best photo you've seen and thought "I wish I took that."?

"There is a young photographer by the name of Jonathan Widmer who took this shot of a curved bridge disappearing into the fog of the night. It is so simple but speaks volumes. It is one my favourites. I hope eventually my work can make people feel the same way."

(Canon Ae-1 Program/ Kodak Ultramax 400/Livermore, Pennsylvania.)

Please head over to Aaron's page to see more of his work here: @aaronmdancho. You won't be disappointed, give him a follow and share the love.

bottom of page