top of page

Emilia Tauber - An Interview

Emilia Tauber, a medical student from Uraguay and a lover of poetry, rock 'n' roll and nature, shoots film. I asked Emilia, born Maria Emilia Tauber, to describe herself and the words she used were affectionate and calm. 'A person who enjoys the silence and peace.'

When did you discover film photography?

The world of analog photography came to me relatively recently, when I received my first camera, a Zenit 122. I didn’t understand anything. So a friend who knew the subject, taught me everything. That day I became totally addicted to this world and all its mysteries.

'' If I could tell the story in words, I would not need to lug around a camera. "- Lewis Hine.

What makes you take a photo?

For me photography is my corner of intimacy, my refuge, my way of expressing myself, to capture the beauty, to capture unique moments of escape from certain realities or completely immerse myself in them.

Analog shot me, transported me into a different world, the essence of classical photography. It gives me longing, makes me appreciate my images more. The finished product arises as something unique and unrepeatable, and therefore makes me fully aware of what I am doing and why. I love the grain and the small details that is in an analog photograph. It feels like a kept a secret, a story.

I love photographing at sunset, a time of calm, when the sun's rays have a delicate light, forming warm places.

What cameras do you shoot on?

Zenit 122 is my partner every day, my faithful friend. It has great sentimental value, so I consider it my favorite.

Just recently I bought a Canon AE-1, which would put in second place on my list, thanks to its durability and resistance.

Are there any photographers out there that make you think “Damn I wish I took that”?

I admire the work of Bill Brandt, especially his nude photographs with perspectives distorted in black and white. I love his use of angles and high contrast with his pursuit of abstraction with the use of frames.

What is your routine for choosing camera and film?

I dont have a routine, I always try to go out with a camera and some rolls in the bag, sometimes not looking for a photo but letting it find me, I think it's the magic of this world, don't follow rules, let everything flow freely.

To see more of Emilia's work take a look at her tumbler account here: emilitauber.tumblr.com

Below you will see some of Emilia's favourite photos she has taken. Please find her on instagram under the name @emiliatauber.

bottom of page